2016-2017 GEM Award Recipients Announced

Back to School News      Print News Article

Sponsors Westerville Parent Council and Roush Honda are pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s GEM Awards.  Now in its fourteenth year, the GEM Awards program, which stands for Great Educator Mentor, recognizes volunteers and district staff who go above and beyond for students in Westerville schools.

Each building solicits nominations and a committee comprised of staff and parents/caregivers selects an honoree.  In addition, a committee with district-wide representation selects one business recipient and four individuals for contributions that impact more than one building or the district as a whole.

GEM Award recipients will be recognized during a Special Session of the Westerville Board of Education on Monday, April 17, at 7:00 p.m. in the Westerville North High School auditorium, located at 950 County Line Road.  This meeting is open to the public, who are encouraged to attend and help celebrate those who do so much for so many.  The 2016-2017 GEM Award recipients are:


  • Early Learning Center, Lou Ann Kowaleski

Elementary Schools

  • Alcott, Esther Manoharan
  • Annehurst, Tricia Hall
  • Cherrington, Aaron Pinion
  • Emerson, Kate Mantenieks
  • Fouse, Amy Emler
  • Hanby, Michelle Andears
  • Hawthorne, Chris Poynter
  • Huber Ridge, Nichole Thomas
  • Longfellow, Kim Strapp
  • Mark Twain, Shelley Seabury
  • McVay, Lori Hause
  • Pointview, Bill Goldner
  • Robert Frost, Amy Kelly
  • Whittier, Stacey and Bob McIntyre
  • Wilder, Jennifer Hubble

Middle Schools

  • Blendon, Joyce Lee
  • Genoa, Mike Denney
  • Heritage, Anne Bates
  • Walnut Springs, Randy Gabel

High Schools

  • Westerville Central, Ali Price
  • Westerville North, Dr. Ben Hartnell
  • Westerville South, Matthew Wolfe


  • Vaughn Bell
  • Jack Brown
  • Gail Walter
  • Linda Weiler

Terry Gordon Business Award

  • BD Mongolian Grill - Easton Location
  • Aaron Heck, Assistant Manager