Sunrise Rotary Recognizes 2017-2018 Service to Youth Award Winners

Back to School News      Print News Article

Pictured left to right, Service to Youth award winners Becky Nitz, Karen Yingling, Robb Stranges, Scotti Smith, Susan Kaul and Sherri Birchem.  Not pictured:  Lyn Saari and Christy Scott.




The Westerville Sunrise Rotary Club hosted a breakfast at the Old Bag of Nails on Wednesday morning, May 16, where Service to Youth award winners were honored.  The program began eight years ago to recognize exceptional Westerville City Schools employees who have made a special contribution to youth; have served as a positive role model for young people; and have demonstrated service above and beyond the call of duty in performing their job responsibilities.  The award is named in honor of Sunrise Rotary President Diane Conley, retired Chief of Academic Affairs for Westerville City Schools. 

The 2017-2018 school year winners were:  Christy Scott, Genoa Middle School; Sherri Birchem, Pointview Elementary; Susan Kaul, Mark Twain Elementary; Becky Nitz, Transportation; Karen Yingling, Blendon Middle School; Lyn Saari, Westerville South High School; Robb Stranges, Fouse Elementary; and Scotti Smith, McVay Elementary.