• Alert:

    WCSD Resumes Blended Learning Model of Instruction on December 7. Read the Superintendent's Message by clicking the news article headline on the district's home page.

Close alert

Bette Marschall Memorial Education Fund Awards $3,216 in Grants

Back to School News      Print News Article

The Bette Marschall Memorial Education Fund of The Columbus Foundation has announced the recipients of nine grant awards totaling $3,216 to Westerville City Schools personnel for applications submitted this fall.  Recipients are:

  • Benjamin Hartnell, classroom teacher at Westerville North High School, $250 to help purchase uniforms and accessories that will help him “restore his classroom to life.”
  • Myranda Held, classroom teacher at Annehurst Elementary, $160 to purchase a subscription to Brain Pop, Jr.
  • Matt Esh, classroom ESL teacher at Westerville South High School, $75 to purchase medals and ribbons to reward students who excel in their work.
  • Jennifer Colle, classroom teacher at Heritage Middle School, $296 to purchase a classroom set of a book entitled I am Malala.
  • Sue Zimmerman, classroom teacher at McVay Elementary, $350 to pay transportation costs to BizTown for approximately 85 students and three educators.
  • Beth Meta, librarian at Fouse Elementary, $425 to begin the creation of a “Makerspace” in the school library.
  • Ann Keane, classroom teacher, Hawthorne Elementary, $472 to purchase Fitdesk Equipment for use in Special Needs learning environments.
  • Kelly Blum, ESL Facilitator, Early Learning Center, $350 to print 125 copies of a book entitled Muluak’s Cows by a Sudanese young man to provide classroom sets at each of Westerville’s three middle schools.
  • Debra Rigsby, classroom teacher, Genoa Middle School, $450 to purchase necessary equipment that will enable students to create original greeting cards.
  • Noelle Spriestersbach (and others), high school social workers, $388 to purchase Yoga mats and Yoga blocks to begin an Afternoon Relaxation Yoga and Stress Reduction Skills Class in all three high schools.