School Board Recognizes PTA Reflections Program Winners

Back to School News      Print News Article

Westerville Parent Council’s 2014-2015 National Reflections Program Chairperson Lisa Wood presented 13 student artists for recognition at the Westerville City Schools Board of Education meeting held Monday evening, April 27.  131 district pupils participated in this year’s contest which celebrates original works of art in six different categories – dance choreography, film production, literature, music composition, photography and visual arts.  This year’s theme was “The world would be a better place if…” 

Winning entries from each Westerville elementary and middle school advanced to district judging.  Westerville Schools was permitted to send 58 district winners to state judging, and 13 of those entries were recognized at the state level with Awards of Excellence, Awards of Achievement, Awards of Merit, or Honorable Mentions.  The two first place winners, who received Awards of Excellence, will advance to the national level.  Honorees were:

  • Elizabeth Bridge, Robert Frost, Dance Choreography, Honorable Mention
  • Addie Gurgiolo, Annehurst, Music Composition, Honorable Mention
  • Martha Cumming Vukovic, Mark Twain, Literature, Honorable Mention
  • Ellis Blackstone, Walnut Springs, Photography, Award of Merit
  • Lexy Lawrence, Mark Twain, Music Composition, Award of Merit
  • Anna Whiting, Emerson, Literature, Award of Merit
  • Hayden Freeman Walker, Wilder, Dance Choreography, Award of Achievement
  • Kinsley Reese, Mark Twain, Dance Choreography, Award of Achievement
  • Sydney Hooker, Heritage, Photography, Award of Achievement
  • Sidney Osterberg, Mark Twain, Music Composition, Award of Achievement
  • Thomas Dalton, Mark Twain, Film Production, Award of Achievement
  • Marlaina Robles, Mark Twain, Dance Choreography, Award of Excellence
  • Lily Wood, Alcott, Literature, Award of Excellence