GEM Award Recipients Announced

Back to School News      Print News Article

Sponsors Westerville Parent Council and Roush Honda are pleased to announce the recipients of the year’s GEM Awards.  Now in its 16th year, the GEM Awards program, which stands for Great Educator Mentor, recognizes volunteers and district staff who go above and beyond to positively affect the lives of the students in Westerville schools.

Each building solicits nominations and a committee comprised of staff and parents select an honoree.  In addition, a committee with district-wide representation selects one community business or organization recipient and four individuals for contributions that impact more than one building or the district as a whole.

GEM Award recipients will be recognized during a special session of the Westerville Board of Education on Monday, April 29, at 7:00 p.m. in the Westerville North High School auditorium, located at 950 County Line Road.  This special session is open to the public, who are encouraged to attend and help us celebrate those who do so much for so many.

The 2018-19 GEM Award recipients are:


Early Learning Center, Taylor Feightner


Alcott, Linda Amici

Annehurst, Danni Whalen

Cherrington, Rachel and Rob Dew

Emerson, Mara Clark

Fouse, Phil West

Robert Frost, Kari Tucker

Hanby, Kelly Balaz

Hawthorne, Rebecca Limes

Huber Ridge, Patty Ryther

Longfellow, Mary Zarley

McVay, Courtney Williams

Pointview, Summer Spencer

Mark Twain, Serena Casale

Whittier, Patricia Grimes

Wilder, Cynthia Vilardo


Blendon, Kelsie Seders

Genoa, Shannan McCreary

Heritage, Dwight Back

Walnut Springs, Michael Albertini


Westerville Central, Amy Farris

Westerville North, Angela Karow

Westerville South, Emily Swank-Kavanaugh


Jill Beck

Rachelle Dicus

Colleen Moidu

Liz Washburn


The Westerville Public Library