Westerville Education Association Celebrates Teachers at Spring Reception

Back to School News      Print News Article

Westerville Education Association Educators of the Year.




On Wednesday evening, May 2, the Westerville Education Association (WEA) hosted its Annual Reception at Villa Milano.  WEA President Rhonda Gilpin presided over the event, during which time a number of awards were presented.  Superintendent John Kellogg addressed the packed house, as did Gerrie Cotter, President of the Westerville City Schools Board of Education. 

Friends of Education awards were given to Nancy McFarland, Ann Morahan and Jim Knapp.

Just one retiring educator was honored this year – Joe Carr, a guidance counselor at St. Paul.

The 2017-2018 Educators of the Year are:

Elementary Schools

Alcott, Heather Lewis                                    

Annehurst, Jordan Hall                                              

Cherrington, Katie Flaiz

Early Learning Center, Julie Motyka

Emerson/Longfellow, Melissa Harps                                                

Fouse, Betsi Byers-Spurlock

Hanby/St. Paul, Amber Cunningham and Diane Plumb       

Hawthorne, Jenny Scherer

Huber Ridge, Shari Hoerner

Mark Twain, Beth Cumming

McVay, Joselyn Wagner

Pointview, Tonya Mariscal

Robert Frost, Alison Dragovich

Whittier, Sarah Lang

Wilder, Jami Patton

Middle Schools

Blendon, Kathy Benton

Genoa, Lisa Lunn         

Heritage, Patrick Acocks

Walnut Springs, Maria Soisson

High Schools

Central, Jordan Kennedy, Rebecca Riccobono

North, Bonnie Leonard, Catherine Stathulis

South/AEC, Jen Baker, Kathryn Feucht