2015-2016 GEM Award Recipients Announced

Back to School News      Print News Article

Sponsors Westerville Parent Council and Roush Honda are pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s GEM Awards.  Now in its thirteenth year, the GEM Awards program, which stands for “Great Educator Mentor,” recognizes volunteers and district staff who go above and beyond for students in Westerville schools.

Each building solicits nominations and a committee comprised of staff and parents/caregivers selects an honoree.  In addition, a committee with district-wide representation selects one business recipient and four individuals for contributions that impact more than one building or the district as a whole.

GEM Award recipients will be recognized during a special session of the Westerville Board of Education on Monday, April 18, at 7:00 p.m. in the Westerville North High School auditorium, located at 950 County Line Road.  This special session is open to the public, who are encouraged to attend and help celebrate those who do so much for so many.

The 2015-2016 GEM Award recipients are:



Early Learning Center, Laurie Shepherd


Elementary Schools

Alcott, Leslie Rosen

Annehurst, Shayne Fletcher

Cherrington, Kim Millington

Emerson, Lesley Walden

Fouse, Kenwyn Chambers

Hanby, Stacy Keenan

Hawthorne, Rebecca Limes

Huber Ridge, Nichole Thomas

Longfellow, Dr. Christopher Wanner

Mark Twain, Kemily Palmer

McVay, Nicole Dezen

Pointview, Tiffany Hughes

Robert Frost, Eric Indiciani

Whittier, Brea Jennings

Wilder, Marilyn Rogers


Middle Schools

Blendon, Nell Liston

Genoa, Terry Van Huffel

Heritage, Jennifer Cole

Walnut Springs, Dwight Back


High Schools

Westerville Central, Kyle Sutton

Westerville North, Kendra Polito

Westerville South, Jeanette Talamo



Andrew Boatright

Lauren Hoffman

Lesley Walden

David Walker


Terry Gordon Business Award

Lakeshore Cryotronics